As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

Patriot Memory Patriot Burst Elite 120GB vs Patriot Memory 128GB 2.5-Inch SATA SSD: Spec Comparison

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

When you compare the patriot memory patriot burst elite 120gb vs patriot p220 128gb sata, you see two 2.5-inch drives with SATA III interfaces. Both offer a three-year warranty and use similar physical dimensions. The main difference lies in capacity and listed performance. The Burst Elite provides 120GB of storage without published speed metrics. The P220 offers 128GB and specifies sequential read and write speeds. You need to decide if the extra capacity and known speeds matter for your setup.

Key differences

AspectPatriot Burst Elite 120GB 2.5-Inch SATA SSDPatriot Memory 128GB 2.5-Inch SATA SSD
Storage Capacity120GB128GB
Sequential Read Speednot listedup to 550MB/s
Sequential Write Speednot listedup to 480MB/s
Weight1.62 ounces1.06 ounces

Which one should you choose?

Choose Patriot Burst Elite 120GB 2.5-Inch SATA SSD if

  • You need a drive where the exact sequential speeds are less critical than the base capacity.
  • You prefer a slightly heavier unit that may indicate different internal construction materials.

Choose Patriot Memory 128GB 2.5-Inch SATA SSD if

  • You want the extra 8GB of usable space for system files and updates.
  • You need confirmed sequential read and write speeds for performance planning.

Verdict: Choose the Burst Elite if you only need basic storage and do not require published speed metrics. Pick the P220 if you want the additional capacity and verified transfer rates. Both drives fit standard 2.5-inch bays and offer similar warranty coverage.

Patriot Burst Elite vs P220 Specs

storage capacity

Edge: Patriot Memory 128GB 2.5-Inch SATA SSD

The Patriot P220 offers 128GB of storage, while the Patriot Burst Elite provides 120GB. This 8GB difference is small but noticeable for users managing tight space limits. If you need every possible gigabyte for your operating system and essential applications, the P220 gives you a slight buffer. The Burst Elite is sufficient for basic tasks, but the P220 allows for a bit more breathing room. Both drives use the same 2.5-inch form factor, so the physical installation remains identical. You should choose the P220 if you prioritize maximum capacity within this specific model comparison.

transfer speed

Edge: Patriot Memory 128GB 2.5-Inch SATA SSD

The Patriot P220 lists sequential read speeds of up to 550MB/s and sequential write speeds of up to 480MB/s. The Patriot Burst Elite does not provide specific speed ratings in its published specifications. Since both drives use the SATA III 6Gb/s interface, the theoretical maximum bandwidth is the same. However, the P220 explicitly guarantees higher performance figures. For everyday file transfers and application loading, the P220 likely delivers faster results. You should prefer the P220 if verified speed metrics are important for your workflow.

physical dimensions

Edge: Tie

Both drives share the standard 2.5-inch form factor, making them compatible with the same laptops and desktop enclosures. The Patriot Burst Elite measures 3.94 inches in length, 2.76 inches in width, and 0.28 inches in height. The Patriot P220 measures 3.94 inches in length, 2.74 inches in width, and 0.28 inches in height. The height is identical, ensuring they fit in slim drive bays. The width difference is negligible, measuring only 0.02 inches apart. Both drives will fit in standard mounting brackets without modification. This aspect is a clear tie for compatibility.

interface compatibility

Edge: Tie

Both the Patriot Burst Elite and the Patriot P220 utilize the SATA III interface, which supports data transfer rates up to 6Gb/s. The P220 explicitly states backward compatibility with SATA II, ensuring it works in older systems. The Burst Elite also uses the SATA III standard, implying similar backward compatibility. You can install either drive in a SATA II port, though speeds will be capped. Both interfaces are standard for 2.5-inch drives, so connection issues are unlikely. This aspect is a tie, as both drives offer standard connectivity.

warranty coverage

Edge: Tie

Both the Patriot Burst Elite and the Patriot P220 come with a three-year warranty. This coverage period is identical for both models, providing the same level of manufacturer support. You receive the same protection against defects for the same duration. There is no difference in the length of the warranty term. This aspect is a tie, as both products offer equal long-term security for your investment.

Choose the right Patriot SSD for you

Users needing maximum storage space

Our pick: Patriot Memory 128GB 2.5-Inch SATA SSD

The Patriot P220 provides 128GB of storage, which is 8GB more than the Burst Elite's 120GB. This extra space helps you store more files without managing capacity tightly. The P220 also lists sequential read speeds up to 550MB/s and write speeds up to 480MB/s, offering clear performance metrics for daily tasks.

Buyers prioritizing established features

Our pick: Patriot Burst Elite 120GB 2.5-Inch SATA SSD

The Burst Elite highlights specific data management features like static and dynamic wear leveling, bad block management, and low power management. These specifications help maintain drive health and efficiency over time. If you value these detailed controller features for longevity and power savings, this model is a strong choice.

Those wanting lighter weight

Our pick: Patriot Memory 128GB 2.5-Inch SATA SSD

The P220 weighs 1.06 ounces, which is lighter than the Burst Elite's 1.62 ounces. This difference matters if you are installing the drive in a laptop or a portable enclosure where every gram counts. The slightly lower weight makes the P220 a better fit for weight-sensitive builds.

The products compared

Patriot Burst Elite 120GB 2.5-Inch SATA SSD

Best for: Basic SATA upgrades and older systems

Storage Capacity
120GB
Interface
SATA III 6Gb/s
Form Factor
2.5"
Dimensions
3.94 × 2.76 × 0.28 inches
Weight
1.62 ounces

View on Amazon: Patriot Burst Elite 120GB 2.5-Inch SATA SSD Affiliate link

The Patriot Burst Elite 120GB is a 2.5-inch SATA III drive with a 6Gb/s interface. It uses a SATA 3 controller and includes dynamic wear leveling and bad block management. The unit measures 3.94 by 2.76 inches and weighs 1.62 ounces. It comes with a 3-year warranty. This drive suits users needing basic storage expansion for older systems or light daily tasks.

Pros

  • SATA III 6Gb/s interface
  • 2.5-inch form factor
  • Dynamic wear leveling
  • 3-year warranty

Cons

  • 120GB capacity is smaller than the 128GB Patriot P220
  • No NVMe or PCIe option available
  • No included software for cloning or management

Good fit if

  • You need a standard 2.5-inch SATA drive
  • You want a basic upgrade for a desktop or laptop
  • You prefer a 3-year warranty

Skip if

  • You require more than 120GB of space
  • You need faster NVMe speeds
  • You want advanced drive management software

Verdict: Patriot Burst Elite 120GB SATA SSD is a reliable entry-level drive for users who need basic SATA storage and a standard 2.5-inch form factor. It fits well in older systems or as a simple boot drive for light computing.

Patriot Memory 128GB 2.5-Inch SATA SSD

Best for: Basic storage upgrades in older systems

Storage Capacity
128GB
Interface
SATA 3
Form Factor
2.5"
Max Read Speed
550MB/s
Max Write Speed
480MB/s
Dimensions
3.94 × 2.74 × 0.28 inches

View on Amazon: Patriot Memory 128GB 2.5-Inch SATA SSD Affiliate link

The Patriot P220 is a 128GB 2.5-inch SATA SSD with sequential read speeds up to 550MB/s and write speeds up to 480MB/s. It uses a SATA 3 controller and fits standard drive bays. This drive suits users needing basic storage expansion for older systems or light daily tasks. The compact 2.74-inch width and 1.06-ounce weight make it easy to install in laptops or desktops.

Pros

  • Sequential read speeds reach 550MB/s
  • Sequential write speeds reach 480MB/s
  • Backward compatible with SATA 2 ports
  • Includes a 3-year warranty

Cons

  • 128GB capacity is the smallest option available
  • No NVMe interface for faster PCIe speeds
  • Limited to SATA 3 bandwidth limits

Good fit if

  • You need a budget upgrade for an older laptop
  • You require a small form factor drive
  • You want backward compatibility with SATA 2 systems

Skip if

  • You need high-capacity storage above 256GB
  • You require NVMe speeds for heavy workloads
  • You are building a modern high-performance PC

Verdict: Patriot P220 128GB SATA SSD offers standard SATA speeds and a compact build for basic storage needs. It fits users upgrading older systems who do not require high capacity or NVMe performance.

Specifications side by side

Spec Patriot Burst Elite 120GB 2.5-Inch SATA SSD Patriot Memory 128GB 2.5-Inch SATA SSD
Storage Capacity 120GB 128GB
Interface SATA III 6Gb/s SATA 3
Form Factor 2.5" 2.5"
Max Read Speed not stated 550MB/s
Max Write Speed not stated 480MB/s
Size 120GB 128GB
Dimensions 3.94 × 2.76 × 0.28 inches 3.94 × 2.74 × 0.28 inches
Weight 1.62 ounces 1.06 ounces
Color black / black Black
Model PBE120GS25SSDR P220

Frequently asked questions

Which Patriot SSD has a larger capacity, the Burst Elite or the P220?

The Patriot P220 offers 128GB of storage, while the Burst Elite provides 120GB. This 8GB difference may matter if you are installing a full operating system and essential applications. The P220 gives you slightly more room for files without needing external drives.

Do both drives use the same physical form factor?

Yes, both the Burst Elite and the P220 use a standard 2.5-inch form factor. This means they fit into the same drive bays in most desktops and laptops. You can swap one for the other without changing your computer case or mounting hardware.

What interface do these Patriot drives use for connection?

Both drives use the SATA III interface. This is the standard connection for most 2.5-inch SSDs. It ensures compatibility with older motherboards that may not support newer NVMe standards. You will connect them using a standard SATA data cable and power connector.

Which Patriot SSD is lighter in weight?

The Patriot P220 is lighter, weighing 1.06 ounces. The Burst Elite weighs 1.62 ounces. The difference is small, but the P220 is slightly more portable. This matters if you are moving drives between devices frequently or packing them for travel.

Are the physical dimensions of these two drives identical?

The dimensions are nearly identical. Both measure 3.94 inches in length and 0.28 inches in height. The width differs slightly, with the P220 at 2.74 inches and the Burst Elite at 2.76 inches. This minor difference does not affect fit in standard drive bays.

Which drive is better for upgrading an older PC?

Both drives are suitable for older systems due to their SATA III interface. The Burst Elite is specifically noted for basic SATA upgrades in older systems. The P220 also fits users upgrading older systems who do not need high capacity. Either will improve speed over a traditional hard drive.

What is the model number for the Patriot 128GB SSD?

The model number for the Patriot 128GB SSD is P220. This drive is part of the Patriot Memory lineup. It is distinct from the Burst Elite, which has the model number PBE120GS25SSDR. Knowing the model helps when searching for drivers or manuals.

See also